Instant Dance is back! Now the stars get a taste of what us professional go through during a normal competition. You put together a mini routine that could be danced to any song and when the time comes, you just go out there and rock it, even if you hate the song that is playing!
Romeo & Chelsie: TANGO score 27
OK, welcome back to the competition Romeo! I really really liked it, great look and feel. Totally nailed the Tango and I’m going out there and saying the best routine for him the whole season! Much improvement in his frame and topline.  I actually wished I was Chelsie dancing out there with the costume, partner and music. AND, I felt their score should of been higher!
Instant Dance: SALSA score 25
Ummm, well…..I agree with Carrie Ann, it felt off to me and not at all very Salsa like.  Half those moves would never be danced at a real Salsa club, so I did not care for it. If you told me it was a Mambo, then it would have been more believable.
Ralph & Karina: VIENNESE WALTZ score 25
Knowing that you are working with an injury is the most stressful and annoying issue to deal with. There is always the question that replays again and again in your mind, “Do I suck it up and move forward, all for the chance of victory?” or “Should I just save myself and quit?”
Well, I thought that he totally pulled it off with a dark and erie dance.  Yes, there were times that componets looked unpolished but for only working on that routine for 9 hours? Come on, much kudos to Ralph for dancing!
Instant Dance: Cha Cha score 21
And…….they have not even worked on the instant dance?!?! Karina looks calm for this challenge she is facing.  I know I would be a hot mess and freaking out of my mind, let alone trying to coach my student/star that everything would be alright. But smart of her to use elements from last week’s Cha Cha formation to make it work! Not bad overall, but compared to the others, it would be the weakest of the night.  I give mad props to him for not giving up and pushing through it. Let’s see if America will keep him for the semi-finals next week. On another note, that song was a horrible Cha cha!!!
Hines & Kym: FOXTROT score 28 
Cheesy Foxtrot? Now you are speaking my language and I loved it! Foot work was a little messy, but he pulls off the attitude, the feel and story! Great musicality using syncopations when the music sped up and had a playful fun spirit!
Instant Dance: JIVE score 26
I would never have known that that routine was an instant dance. Kym did an amazing job within those 30 minutes putting all the accents and hits to match the music. The only thing that drove me crazy, and my students know this, was not pointing his feet on the flicks and kicks!  Grrrr, please point your feet! But Bruno, where did the 8 come from?
Now the ladies….

Chelsea & Mark: WALTZ score 29
Overall, not bad. I like the comtempory feel through the routine but feel there were moments of rough transitions mainly in her arms and feet. And since she was wearing practice sandals and not traditional smooth shoes, there should be not excuse for messy foot work and the judges still gave her two 10’s?!?! Really? I mean, for me to see that score, I need to be blown out of the water and want to rewind my DVR to see it again. But not in this case, good for Len for holding the standard!
Instant Dance: SALSA score 26
I completely understand what Chelsea is going through.  I too memorize all my routines by musical cues and certian words in the song. But when it came to the Salsa, I just felt all the shimmies looked very fake or like they tried too hard. In other words, total white girl and not very earthy or grounded.
Kirstie & Maksim: ARGETINE TANGO score 28
Just watching the clips of the practice sessions, I was just shaking my head and wondering if this girl is going to survive? Geez!!! Thank God she proved me wrong. What a come back to show America that when she is focused and pushed, amazing things that can happen! They had me on that lift as Maks walked down the stairs with her on his shoulders! Then the one where she was on his hip and they both spun around down the floor with a graceful dismount at the end. Then the last trick with her leg wrapped around his thigh as he did a slow and sexy lunge (I think making up for the one in the Rumba a few weeks back during the infamous drop/fall). At the very end, Kirstie posing away from him in a very “noir” movie ending.
Now here is a subject I’m going to spend some time on that many ladies will rarely speak about how they really feel, lifts! First, minus the lack of trust of your partner and knowledge on how to do anything with your feet off the ground, and you will still have that huge concern floating in your mind, “How is he going to lift my fat butt up in the air?” Many times we feel like we don’t deserve to do the moves all the pretty, young, skinny girls do…but there is a secret to it. It’s all about what works well for your body/partner and keeping it appropriate. Being a curvy girl myself, I also have the same feelings every time Juan wants me to do some sort of lift during a routine.  I give him the, “are you crazy” look, then he says, “just try it”. I usually fall once or twice like Kirstie, but then we make it work and I feel just as beautiful as the girls on TV. So it goes to show you that it’s all about how you carry yourself on the floor and I’m so proud of Kirstie for representing herself and other women like her that you can be sexy and sensual, even if your pant size is a double digit!
Instant Dance: SALSA score 25
It had a more true feel for what the Salsa is all about. Great use of fluid arm checks and face loops and she worked what her mama gave her, her hips! Yes, she lost footing during her open left boxes, but it was not the end of the world.

Dance turns lil' into Romeo.

The road to the Semi Finals always leaves one person out the door.  So let’s see what America had to say…

Hines and Kirstie are safe and relieved to continue in the competition.
The trio of brothers were the cutest thing ever, mixing in a little Cha Cha with their hip hop.
How much did I love the performance of Adel singing, “Rolling in the Deep”? The guest guys dancers were amazing but the girls were not in sync and looked a mess.
So Romeo and Ralph are in danger of going home while Chelsea is safe for next week. Mmmm, I really don’t know at this point what is going to happen. But it was said that Romeo will be denied dancing in the Semis. Now I’m a little sad that he had his strongest night last night and still could not hold a spot for next week.  But I’m surprised of what he said about his fear of dancing, even missing out of his own Prom and movie roles.  It goes to show how much a person can change or improve their life by dancing.  Even a young punk kid can transform his mind and body to a young man and view life with less fear now, all by gaining confidence through dance.
Well kids, 2 guys and 2 girls will duke it out to see who will make it to the finals. Usually I can easily call out who it will be every year, but everyone has something going for them. Kirstie with her body transformation, Ralph being America’s boy, Hines with his amazing showmanship and Chelsea with her cute Disney girl charm.
Until next time.